Global Accessibility Awareness Day

On Thursday, May 20, 2021, help us celebrate the tenth Global Accessibility Awareness Day (GAAD)! The purpose of GAAD is to get everyone talking, thinking and learning about digital access and inclusion, and the more than One Billion people with disabilities/impairments.  Like last year we hope to reach audiences across the globe and based on requests from participants we are planning to run these sessions 3 times in a 24 hour window.  This will allow participants to choose a timing based on their local time.


GAAD is a worldwide momentum that was started with an objective to create a platform to raise awareness about accessibility in general and digital accessibility in particular. Digital accessibility is the ability of a website, mobile application or electronic document to be easily navigated and understood by a wide range of users, including users who have visual, auditory, motor or cognitive disabilities.


GAAD Online is a joint initiative of EqualGenius Foundation and its Partners.  ​The idea of a Global Accessibility Awareness Day started with a single blog post written by a Los Angeles-based web developer, Joe Devon.  Jennison Asuncion, an accessibility professional from Toronto, discovered Joe’s blog post purely by accident thanks to randomly coming across a tweet from Joe. The movement in India was led by Mitra Jyothi, a non-profit organization working towards empowering people with disabilities in general and visually impaired in particular and Prakat Solutions - a private limited company in India (incorporated in the US) with a vision to make a huge difference in the world of Accessibility.


​Based on the success of the GAAD India 2020 last year which was forced to go "virtual" because of worldwide locldowns due to the pandemic, the primary organizers decided to join hands with EqualGenius Foundation and many other organizations around the world to crate the GAAD Online platform.

© Copyright EqualGenius 2021 |  Privacy Policy

REMOVING BARRIERS TO OPPORTUNITY

THROUGH SKILLS, EXPERIENCE & TECHNOLOGY

INCLUSIVE  EQUITABLE   SUSTAINABLE

 

REGISTER NOW FOR THE GAAD ONLINE EVENT on Tuesday May 20th 2021

Slot 1:  2pm India, 5:30pm Tokyo,  12:30pm Dubai

Slot 2:  12:30pm New York, 9:30am San Diego